Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program

The PMI Certification

Maintaining your PMI certification is a significant competitive advantage. It keeps you relevant and helps you better position yourself as the answer to what companies demand.

Maintain Certification

Updated Program

Recently, PMI updated the program to include more emphasis on employer-demanded skills as outlined in the PMI Talent TriangleTM. This provides the guidance you need to stay relevant and competitive in the profession.

The Talent Triangle

To Stay Certified

To stay certified, you need to participate in professional development activities, and earn and report professional development units (PDUs.)

How to Earn PDUs

Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS)

Visit our online Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS) to report PDUs and view your certification records.



Have questions about maintaining your certifications? Read about PDUs, the CCR program, and more.


Certification-Specific Requirements

Every certification except the CAPM® requires you to earn a specific amount of PDUs per three-year certification cycle. The requirements differ for each certification, so check the handbook to find out more. For the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®, you’ll need to retake the exam before the end of your five-year certification cycle.

View Requirements